What future for orchids ?

 General information

On behalf of L’Orchidée en France and the Scientific Committee in charge of the event, we are pleased to announce the organization of a scientific conference associated with the 18th European Orchid Council Conference and Exhibition, which will be held in Paris on March 23–25, 2018.

This international conference is deliberately oriented toward the future, in order to highlight cutting-edge orchid research and to predict developments in the immediate future. It is therefore entitled What future for orchids? The conference is open to everyone interested in orchids, including scientists, researchers, students, managers, professionals and hobbyists. Ensuring a secure future for orchids also requires the emergence of a new generation of researchers. We therefore especially welcome PhD students and post-docs, not only to present some of the talks but also to offer posters.

Conference organization and facilities

The conference will open on Friday 23rd March 2018 at 9.00 am and close on Sunday 25th March at 6.00 pm.

The EOC conference consists of two successive meetings. The first, on Friday will deal with new trends in orchid cultivation and the second, on Saturday and Sunday will be the scientific meeting.

A catering service will be available for lunch within the Paris Event Center area and a gala dinner will be held on Saturday evening. Lunches and dinners are not included in the registration fees.

 

New trends in orchid cultivation

This meeting will provide modern practice in orchid growing for both professionals and hobbyists. English and French languages will be accepted. Slides are recommended to be composed mostly in English when the talk is to be given in French or in French when the talk is to be given in English.

Scientific meeting

The scientific meeting will include both oral communications and poster presentations. English is the single official language of the meeting. It is organized into four provisional sessions covering a wide range of topics :

– Conservation and restoration in a changing world – Keynote speaker: Tiiu Kull, Estonian University of  Life Sciences, Tartu (Estonia)

Global change and other human-induced pressures increasingly threaten attempts to conserve orchids, their genetic diversity, habitats and emergent niches – how can we best respond to these challenges?

Orchids in the era of genomics – Keynote speaker: Barbara Gravendee, University of Applied Sciences Leiden and Naturalis Biodiversity Center, Leiden (Netherlands)

Knowledge of orchids has benefited greatly from new technologies that promote research areas such as proteomics, transcriptomics, genome sequencing and phylogenomics – what big pictures of orchid biology, ecology and evolution are now emerging?

Ecology of mutualism. – Keynote speaker: Marc-André Sélosse, Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris (France)

Orchids have fascinating and vital interactions with soil fungi (mycorrhizae) and insects (pollination), ranging from mutualistic to cheating (parasitic) – how do these intimate relationships shape population dynamics and structure, adaptation and distribution?

Biotechnology and breeding – Keynote speaker: Hong-Hwa Chen, National Cheng Kong University, Tainan City (Taiwan)

Advances in molecular biology, genomics, and in vitro culture are together stimulating approaches to orchid breeding that allow better control of desired traits – can we predict future trends in the nature of cultivated orchids and the way we cultivate them?

 Each session deals with both temperate and tropical species of orchids and will be opened by an invited keynote speaker, who will be followed by several contributed communications. Oral communications will take place in a conference room close to the exhibition, allowing attendees easy access to the orchid show. Posters will be available during the complete duration of conference, and their authors will be invited to present them at poster session, during afternoon on the Saturday. There will be a prize for the best two posters. Contributors are invited to submit their communication for oral or poster presentation (see instructions below).

Communication submission

Contributors are invited to submit a communication for oral or poster presentation. This submission should include the title of the proposed communication, author and coauthors affiliation and an abstract of approximatively 100–200 words. Authors may request their abstract to be considered for an oral presentation or as a poster presentation. Each submission will be examined by the scientific committee, which may recommend change to oral or poster session. The number of oral communications will be limited by session duration. But rest assured that, whatever your research area, if novel, we will find a place for it!

Abstract submission deadline will be 20th October 2017 for oral communication and 15th January 2018 for posters. The Scientific Committee invites authors to send their submissions as soon as possible, well before the deadline. Decision for oral and poster presentation will be announced one month after deadline.

Submission should be sent  as .rtf, .pdf, .doc or .docx format file by email to conference@eocce2018.com.

Abstracts will be remained modifiable until the date set for completion of the book of abstracts.

Registration

Registration to the conference will be done on-line on this web site.

Registration fees include access to the conference lectures and poster session, permanent access to the orchid show, to the opening ceremony of the event on Thursday afternoon, and also the conference bag containing useful information and the book of abstracts. Registration for Saturday’s gala dinner, which will be shared with orchid exhibitors and other attendees should be done separately as it is not included in registration fee.

Early-bird registration will be open up to and including November 30th 2017.

A reduced registration fee is accorded to students.

Registration will be formally accepted after receipt of payment. In the case of registration cancellation before 31st January 2018, 50% of the conference fee will be refunded, but after this date no payment can be refunded. Please note that refunds will be issued only after the end of the meeting.

 

Registration fees

Regular participant

• Early bird: 120€

• Late: 150€

Accompanying person (only one per regular participant, without any document or meeting bag)

• 60€

Student (providing document confirming student status)

• Early bird: 80€

• Late: 120€

Registration to the one-day ‘New trends in Orchid Cultivation’ meeting, Friday 23rd March

• 50€

To register as a congressist, please click here

After sending your request, you will receive a confirmation e-mail.

Keynote speakers

Tiiu KULL, PhD (1997, University of Tartu). Head of the Department of Botany in the Institute of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Estonian University of Life Sciences, professor since 2007. Main study areas are population biology of rare plant species, especially orchids. In addition to orchid population biology her research interests include reproductive biology and distribution of vascular plants and the biodiversity conservation. Prof. Kull has also participated in the compilation of the Flora of the Baltic Countries, Red Data books and the Atlas and Key-Books of Estonian plants. She has published more than 50 papers and three books, edited several publications, Orchid Biology: Reviews and Perspectives VIII, IX, X included. She is an editor of the Proceedings of Estonian Academy of Sciences and currently leader of several research projects, e.g.: (1) Non-additive impact of border-richness to biota (2) Moth pollinators in semi-natural grasslands (3) Establishment and management of long-term biodiversity experiments (4) Natue tourism impacts on natural communities. T.Kull has been active in several EU projects EU-wide monitoring methods and systems of surveillance for species and habitats of Community interest (EuMon), and European Platform for Biodiversity, An innovative tool for improving the competitiveness of community based tourism (Comcot), etc. In 2004 the team lead by her organized the 3rd international workshop on orchid biology and conservation in Haapsalu, Estonia. Prof. Kull has lead or co-lead Estonian Orchid Protection Club for more than 25 years.

Marc-André SELOSSE (born in Paris in 1968) is professor at Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (Paris), at University of Gdansk (Department of Plant Taxonomy and Nature Conservation, Poland) and invited professor at University of Viçosa (Brazil). He got his PhD (1998) and Habilitation (2002) at Université Paris-Orsay. His teams’ researches focus on the ecology and evolution of mycorrhizas, a major symbiosis between soil fungi and plants roots, with a focus on orchids’ mycorrhizal fungi and on the fungal taxa Sebacinales, Laccaria and Tuber (truffles). He published >130 research papers. His three teams in Poland, Brazil and France have an interest in fungal populations and communities, with a specific focus on mycorrhizal networks, and in orchid nutrition physiology, in both temperate and tropical ecosystems. He belongs to the researchers who discovered mixotrophy in orchids. President of the Société botanique de France since 2010 and member of the French Academy of Agriculture, he is editor of Symbiosis, New Phytologist and Botany Letters. He is very active in popular science and his many papers and outreach essays are freely available (Marc-Andre-SELOSSE home web page).

Barbara GRAVENDEEL, after obtaining a Ph.D. in orchid systematics at Leiden University, she gradually developed into an allround orchidologist, who helped dating the orchid family and discover the important role that tropical mountains play in the origin of orchid endemics. She currently holds a chair in Biodiversity at the Science and Technology Faculty of the University of Applied Sciences Leiden and Naturalis Biodiversity Center (The Netherlands), where she investigates orchid evolution together with undergraduate and doctorate students from all over the world. Her main research interest lies in unraveling the genetic basis of specialised orchid organs responsible for reproductive isolation and speciation.

Hong-Hwa CHEN, Professor at National Cheng Kung University for 23 years, she has transformed herself from a virologist into a researcher engaged in orchid basic research for the past two decades. She has been to France, United States, South Korea and mainland China for short-term study visit several times. So far, she has published 57 academic journal articles with high impact factor with 3060 times citations. In addition, she has published 114 Symposium Abstracts/articles, edited three special books, 14 book chapters, eight domestic and foreign patents, and two technology transfer. In addition, with her efforts and international cooperation, the whole genome sequencing of Phalaenopsis equestris has been completed and published in Nature Genetics in 2015. Her research has accumulated enough research energy to have outstanding contributions on the subsequent orchid research. In addition to basic research dedicated to orchids, Professor Chen also focuses on the matchmaking industry and academia, so that academic research energy can be applied to industry, to enhance the international competitiveness of orchid industry in Taiwan. She has founded “Orchid Biotechnology Industry-University Alliance” and “Orchid Research and Development Center” at NCKU, combining cross-cutting and the upper, middle and lower reaches of academia chain, establishing inter-institution alliances for capacity utilization to enhance orchid biotechnology. This is a positive active role for a university faculty and it is rare. It is recommended for her to be encouraged. She is eligible for the Outstanding Research Award of the Ministry of Science in 2015 year. Further recognition of her contribution in basic research as well as assistance in orchid industry has prompted her receiving the TECO Award in 2016.

Organising Committee

Daniel Prat

Research scientist in forest genetics after a Ph.D. in plant breeding and then professor at University of Lyon (France) where Daniel Prat is in charge of a training in plant breeding. Interested in orchids since a long time, Daniel Prat is regular member of the French Orchid Society (SFO), editor of some key books published by the association and involved in the management of the web site www.orchisauvage.fr where people can share orchid observations.

Richard Bateman

Having retired by accident from a diverse academic career at the age of 52, Richard Bateman is an independent research scientist who is presently Visiting Professor at the University of Reading, Honorary Research Fellow at the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, and long-term President of the UK Hardy Orchid Society. Although his research interests are equally diverse, his largest body of work has used molecular and morphometric methods to explore the systematic biology, evolution and speciation of temperate orchids.

Alain Benoit

Doctor in medicine, specialist in radiology. Growing orchids for thirty-five years, he is in charge for the French Orchid Society (SFO) of tropical orchids and responsible for the SFO of a training in Orchid cultivation. In charge for the LOF of the relationship with orchid producers for the EOCCE.

Pascale Besse

After a Ph.D. at Cirad in Montpellier (France) and a postdoctoral position at CSIRO in Brisbane (Australia), Pascale Besse was appointed at the University of La Reunion in 1997 where she is now a professor in charge of a master’s degree in tropical biodiversity (Master BEE BEST-T) and of a research team in the mixed research unit between Cirad and the Reunion university UMR PVBMT (Peuplements Végétaux et Bioagresseurs en Milieu Tropical). Her research interests are currently focusing mainly on orchids from the Vanilla genus exploring molecular genetics of traits of interest as well as species evolution and population genetics towards preservation of wild genetic resources and breeding of improved varieties.”

Yves Henry

Working for private companies on wheat and barley breeding (1975-1988), Yves Henry has a Ph.D. in Plant Breeding (1983) and since 1988 he was group leader in developmental biology (director of research at the C.N.R.S., France, retired in 2012). He focusses all his present efforts on European orchids with particular attention to the genus Ophrys. He regularly publishes papers concerned with the transmission of knowledge and public education, popularizing orchid research (evolutionary radiation, flower, lusus, chloroplastic DNA, epigenetics, introgressions…).

Jana Jersakova

Jana Jersáková is an Assoc. Prof. at the Faculty of Science of University of South Bohemia, Czech Republic. She has a long-term experience in ecological aspects of life-strategies of terrestrial orchids, focusing particularly on factors affecting orchid distribution, such as dependence on specific mycorrhizal fungi and specialized pollinators. Currently, her research concentrates on techniques of isolation and cultivation of orchid mycorrhizal fungi and their use in restoration of orchid populations on reclaimed habitats.

Ray Ong

Specialist for orchid growing and propagation, Ray Ong has initiated and developed in vitro propagation of various orchid species.

Marc-André Selosse

Marc-André Selosse is professor at Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (Paris) and at University of Gdansk, and invited professor at University of Viçosa (Brazil). His researches focus on the ecology and evolution of mycorrhizas, a major symbiosis between soil fungi and plants roots, with a focus on orchids’ mycorrhizal fungi. His teams have an interest in fungal populations and communities, and in plant nutrition physiology, in both temperate and tropical ecosystems. President of the Société Botanique de France since 2010 and member of the French Academy of Agriculture and of the French Orchid Society (SFO), he is editor of Symbiosis, New Phytologist and Botany Letters. He is very active in popular science and editor of the French popular science journal Espèces.

Tariq Stevaert

Botanist from the Missouri Botanical Gardens, his research activity concerns mostly tropical orchids in Africa, in order to describe, discover their biological features and protect them.

Quel futur pour les orchidées ?

Information générale

Au nom de L’Orchidée en France et du Comité Scientifique chargé de l’organisation de l’exposition et des conférences, nous avons le plaisir de vous faire part et de vous inviter à participer au 18ème colloque international de l’EOCCE (European Orchid Council Conference and Exhibition), qui se tiendra à Paris du 23 au 25 mars 2018.

Ce colloque est délibérément tourné vers l’avenir afin de mettre en évidence les recherches de pointe menées sur les orchidées et de prévoir leurs perspectives et applications proches. Son intitulé est ainsi : Quel futur pour les orchidées ?

Le colloque est ouvert à toute personne intéressée par les orchidées, amateurs et scientifiques, chercheurs et professionnels, étudiants, gestionnaires, etc. Assurer un avenir sûr pour les orchidées nécessite également l’émergence d’une nouvelle génération de chercheurs. Nous accueillons donc particulièrement les étudiants de doctorat et les post-docs, non seulement pour présenter certaines conférences, mais aussi pour offrir des posters.

Services et organisation des conférences

Le colloque ouvrira le vendredi 23 mars 2018 à 9h00 et se terminera le dimanche 25 mars à 8h00.

Le 18ème colloque de l’EOCCE comporte deux parties. La première, le vendredi, sera une Master Class consacrée aux nouvelles tendances pour la culture des orchidées et la deuxième, le samedi et le dimanche, sera le colloque scientifique.

Un service de restauration sera ouvert le midi pour les déjeuners dans l’enceinte de Paris Event Center qui accueille l’exposition et la conférence. Le dîner de gala aura lieu le samedi soir. Les repas, déjeuners et dîners, ne sont pas inclus dans les frais d’inscription.

Master Class : Nouvelles tendances pour la culture des orchidées

Cette réunion présentera les pratiques modernes de la culture des orchidées, elle est principalement destinée aux professionnels et aux amateurs. Les langues anglaise et française seront acceptées. Il sera alors recommandé d’avoir un support dans l’une de ces deux langues et la présentation orale dans l’autre.

Conférences scientifiques

Le colloque scientifique comportera des communications orales et des présentations de posters. Il est organisé autour de 4 thèmes couvrant un large éventail de sujets de recherches menées sur les orchidées :

Protection et restauration dans un environnement changeant par Tiiu Kull

Le changement global et d’autres pressions d’origine l’humaine menacent de plus en plus les orchidées, leur diversité génétique, leurs habitats et leurs niches écologiques – Comment pouvons-nous répondre au mieux à ces défis ?

Ecologie des mutualismes par Marc-André Sélosse

Les orchidées ont des interactions fascinantes et indispensables avec les champignons du sol (mycorhizes) et les insectes (pollinisation), allant du mutualiste à la tricherie (parasite) – Comment ces relations intimes façonnent la dynamique et la structure des populations, leur adaptation et leur distribution ?

Les orchidées à l’ère de la génomique par Barbara Gravendee

La connaissance des orchidées a grandement bénéficié des nouvelles technologies telles que la protéomique, la transcriptomique, le séquençage du génome et la phylogénomique, qui révolutionnent des champs entiers de recherche – Quelles grandes idées sur la biologie, l’écologie et l’évolution des orchidées sont en train d’émerger ?

Biotechnologies et amélioration par Hong-Hwa Chen

Les progrès de la biologie moléculaire, de la génomique et de la culture in vitro constituent des approches stimulantes pour l’amélioration des orchidées en facilitant un meilleur contrôle des traits recherchés – Pouvons-nous prédire les tendances à venir des orchidées cultivées et la façon dont nous les cultiverons ?

L’anglais est la seule langue officielle du colloque scientifique.

Pour chaque session, les espèces d’orchidées tempérées, comme tropicales, seront considérées. Chaque session sera introduite par un conférencier invité et comportera ensuite plusieurs communications orales.

Les communications orales auront lieu dans une salle de conférences proche de l’exposition internationale d’orchidées, permettant aux participants d’y accéder facilement.

Les posters seront présentés pendant toute la durée de la conférence et leurs auteurs seront invités à les présenter lors de la séance posters, l’après-midi du samedi. Il y aura un prix pour les deux meilleurs posters.

Les participants sont invités à soumettre leur communication pour une présentation orale ou pour un poster (voir les instructions ci-dessous).

Soumission des communications

Les contributeurs sont invités à soumettre leurs communications pour une présentation orale ou par poster. Cette soumission devra comporter le titre de la communication proposée, le nom des auteurs et un résumé de 100 à 200 mots environ. Les auteurs indiqueront la forme souhaitée de leur communication (orale ou poster). La proposition de communication soumise sera examinée par le comité scientifique, qui peut recommander un changement de présentation pour une communication orale ou un poster. Le nombre de communications orales sera limité par la durée de la session. Soyez certain que quel que soit votre sujet de recherche, s’il apparaît comme novateur, nous lui trouverons une place !

La date limite de soumission des résumés est fixée au 15 septembre 2017 pour les communications orales et au 15 janvier 2018 pour les posters. Le Comité scientifique invite les auteurs à envoyer leur soumission le plus tôt possible, et de préférence bien avant la date limite.

Les auteurs recevront une confirmation d’acceptation pour les communications orales avant le 15 octobre 2017 et avant le 31 janvier 2018 pour les communications d’affiches.

La soumission doit être envoyée par courrier électronique à : conference@EOCCE2018.org.

Les résumés resteront modifiables jusqu’à la date donnée ultérieurement pour la préparation du recueil des résumés remis aux participants.

Inscription

L’inscription au colloque se fera en ligne sur ce site Web.

Les frais d’inscription comprennent l’accès aux conférences et à la séance posters, l’accès permanent à l’exposition internationale d’orchidées, au cocktail et à la cérémonie d’ouverture du jeudi après-midi, ainsi que la pochette remise aux participants contenant des informations générales et le recueil des résumés. L’inscription au dîner de gala du samedi, auquel se joindront entre autres les exposants d’orchidées, doit être effectuée séparément car elle n’est pas incluse dans les frais d’inscription.

Les frais d’inscription anticipée sont ouverts jusqu’au 30 novembre 2017.

Des frais d’inscription réduits sont accordés aux étudiants.

L’inscription sera officiellement acceptée après réception du paiement. En cas d’annulation de l’inscription avant le 31 janvier 2018, les frais d’inscription seront remboursés à une hauteur de 50% des frais, mais après cette date, aucun remboursement ne sera effectué. Les éventuels remboursements ne seront effectués qu’après la fin du colloque.

Frais d’inscription

Participant

  • Inscription anticipée : 120€
  • Inscription après le 30 novembre 2017 : 150€

Personne accompagnante (seulement un accompagnant par participant, aucun document fourni ni pochette) : 60€

Etudiant (Carte d’étudiant en cours de validité)

  • Inscription anticipée : 80€
  • Inscription après le 30 novembre 2017 : 120€

Inscription seulement à la journée du vendredi 23 mars (Master Class Nouvelles tendances pour la culture des orchidées) :

  • 50€

Pour s’inscrire comme congressiste, cliquez ici

Après le paiement, vous recevrez un email de confirmation.

Conférenciers

Tiiu KULLPhD (1997, Université de Tartu). Chef du Département de Botanique à l’Institut des Sciences Agronomiques et Environnementales, Université Estonienne des Sciences de la Vie, professeur depuis 2007. Les principaux domaines d’étude sont la biologie des populations d’espèces de plantes rares, en particulier les orchidées. En plus de la biologie des orchidées, ses intérêts de recherche incluent la biologie de la reproduction et la distribution des plantes vasculaires et la conservation de la biodiversité. Le professeur Kull a également participé à la compilation de la Flore des pays baltes, des livres de données rouges et de l’Atlas et des livres-clés des plantes estoniennes. Elle a publié plus de 50 articles et trois livres, a édité plusieurs publications, Orchid Biology: Reviews and Perspectives VIII, IX, X inclus. Elle est rédactrice en chef des Actes de l’Académie Estonienne des Sciences et actuellement leader de plusieurs projets de recherche, par exemple: (1) Impact non-additif de la richesse des frontières pour le biote (2) La pollinisation par les mites dans les prairies semi-naturelles (3) Établissement et Gestion des expériences à long terme sur la biodiversité (4) Impact du tourisme de Natue sur les communautés naturelles. T.Kull a été active dans plusieurs projets de l’UE. Des méthodes de surveillance et des systèmes de surveillance à l’échelle de l’UE pour les espèces et les habitats d’intérêt communautaire (EuMon) et la Plate-forme européenne pour la biodiversité, un outil novateur pour améliorer la compétitivité du tourisme communautaire (Comcot) , Etc. En 2004, l’équipe qu’elle a dirigée a organisé le 3ème atelier international sur la biologie et la conservation des orchidées à Haapsalu, en Estonie. Le Prof. Kull a dirigé ou co-dirige le Club Estonian Orchid Protection depuis plus de 25 ans.

Marc-André SELOSSE (né à Paris en 1968) Est professeur au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (Paris), à l’Université de Gdansk (Département de taxonomie végétale et conservation de la nature, Pologne) et professeur invité à l’Université de Viçosa (Brésil). Il a obtenu son doctorat (1998) et Habilitation (2002) à l’Université Paris-Orsay. Les recherches de ses équipes mettent l’accent sur l’écologie et l’évolution des mycorhizes, une symbiose majeure entre les champignons du sol et les racines des plantes, en mettant l’accent sur les champignons mycorhiziens des orchidées et sur les taxons fongiques Sebacinales, Laccaria et Tuber (truffes). Il a publié plus de 130 articles de recherche. Ses trois équipes en Pologne, au Brésil et en France s’intéressent aux populations et aux communautés fongiques, en mettant l’accent sur les réseaux mycorhiziens et dans la physiologie de la nutrition des orchidées, tant dans les écosystèmes tempérés que tropicaux. Il appartient aux chercheurs qui ont découvert la mixotrophie dans les orchidées. Président de la Société botanique de France depuis 2010 et membre de l’Académie française d’agriculture, il est rédacteur en chef de Symbiosis, New Phytologist and Botany Letters. Il est très actif dans la science populaire et ses nombreux articles et essais sont disponibles gratuitement (page d’accueil de Marc-Andre-SELOSSE).

Barbara GRAVENDEEL, après avoir obtenu un doctorat dans la systématique des orchidées à l’Université de Leiden, s’est progressivement développée en un orchidologue « allround », qui a aidé à dater la famille des orchidées et à découvrir le rôle important que jouent les montagnes tropicales dans l’origine des endémies d’orchidées. Elle est actuellement titulaire d’une chaire en Biodiversité à la Faculté de Sciences et Technologie de l’Université des Sciences Appliquées de Leiden et au Naturalis Biodiversity Center (Pays-Bas), où elle étudie l’évolution des orchidées avec des étudiants de premier cycle et de doctorat du monde entier. Son principal intérêt de recherche consiste à démêler la base génétique des organes d’orchidées spécialisés responsables de l’isolement et de la spéciation de la reproduction.

Hong-Hwa CHEN, Professeur à l’Université nationale Cheng Kung depuis 23 ans, elle s’est transformée d’un virologiste en chercheur engagé dans la recherche fondamentale d’orchidées depuis deux décennies. Elle a été en France, aux États-Unis, en Corée du Sud et en Chine continentale pour une visite d’étude à court terme à plusieurs reprises. Jusqu’à présent, elle a publié 57 articles de revues académiques avec un facteur d’impact élevé avec des citations de 3060 fois. De plus, elle a publié 114 Abstracts / articles de symposiums, a édité trois livres spéciaux, 14 chapitres de livres, huit brevets nationaux et étrangers et deux transferts de technologie. De plus, avec ses efforts et sa coopération internationale, le séquençage complet du génome de Phalaenopsis equestris a été complété et publié dans Nature Genetics en 2015. Ses recherches ont accumulé suffisamment d’énergie de recherche pour avoir des contributions exceptionnelles sur la recherche  dans le domaine des orchidées. En plus de la recherche fondamentale consacrée aux orchidées, le professeur Chen se concentre également sur les rapports entre l’industrie et le milieu académique, afin que l’énergie de recherche universitaire puisse être appliquée à l’industrie, de manière à améliorer la compétitivité internationale de l’industrie des orchidées à Taiwan. Elle a fondé « Orchid Biotechnology Industry-University Alliance » et « Orchid Research and Development Centre » à NCKU, combinant la coupe transversale et la chaîne supérieure, moyenne et inférieure de la chaîne universitaire, établissant des alliances inter-institutions pour l’utilisation de la capacité pour améliorer la biotechnologie des orchidées . C’est un rôle actif positif pour une faculté universitaire et c’est rare. Il est recommandé qu’elle soit encouragée. Elle fut éligible au Prix de recherche exceptionnelle du ministère des Sciences en 2015. Une reconnaissance accrue de sa contribution à la recherche fondamentale ainsi qu’à l’aide à l’industrie des orchidées lui a permis de recevoir le prix TECO en 2016.

Organising Committee

Daniel Prat

Chercheur en génétique forestière après un doctorat en amélioration des plantes, puis professeur à l’Université de Lyon (France) où Daniel Prat est responsable d’une formation en biotechnologies et amélioration des plantes. Intéressé depuis longtemps par les orchidées, Daniel Prat est membre de la Société Française d’Orchidophilie (SFO), coordinateur de certains ouvrages clés publiés par l’association et impliqué dans la gestion du site www.orchisauvage.fr où les observateurs d’orchidées peuvent partager leurs découvertes.

Richard Bateman

Retraité par accident d’une carrière universitaire diversifiée à l’âge de 52 ans, Richard Bateman est un chercheur indépendant qui est actuellement professeur invité à l’Université de Reading, chercheur honoraire aux Royal Botanic Gardens de Kew et président pour une longue période de la UK Hardy Orchid Society. Bien que ses intérêts de recherche soient diversifiés, son principal sujet d’étude a porté sur l’application des méthodes moléculaires et morphométriques à la systématique, l’évolution et la spéciation des orchidées tempérées.

Alain Benoit

Docteur en médecine, spécialiste en radiologie. Cultivant des orchidées depuis plus de trente-cinq ans, il est responsable à la Société Française d’Orchidophilie (SFO) des activités sur les espèces tropicales et responsable à la SFO d’une formation à la culture des orchidées. En charge au sein de la LOF des relations avec les producteurs d’orchidées pour l’EOCCE.

Pascale Besse

Après un doctorat au Cirad à Montpellier (France) et un postdoc au CSIRO à Brisbane (Australie), Pascale Besse a été nommée à l’Université de La Réunion en 1997 où elle est actuellement professeur responsable d’un master en biodiversité tropicale (Master BEE BEST -T) et d’une équipe de recherche dans l’unité mixte de recherche créée entre le Cirad et l’université de la Réunion UMR PVBMT (Peuplements Végétaux et Bioagresseurs en Milieu Tropical). Ses recherches portent actuellement sur les orchidées du genre Vanilla où elle utilise la biologie moléculaire d’une part pour l’analyse du contrôle génétique des traits d’intérêt ainsi que l’évolution des espèces et d’autre part en génétique des populations dans un objectif de conservation des ressources génétiques sauvages et d’amélioration des variétés cultivées.

Yves Henry

Travaillant en entreprises privées sur l’amélioration du blé et de l’orge (1975-1988), Yves Henry a obtenu son doctorat en amélioration des plantes (1983) et à partir de 1988, il a animé une équipe de recherche en biologie du développement (directeur de recherche C.N.R.S., France, a pris sa retraite en 2012). Il concentre aujourd’hui tous ses efforts sur les orchidées européennes avec une attention particulière au genre Ophrys. Il publie régulièrement des articles de vulgarisation sur les orchidées afin de diffuser les résultats des travaux de recherche (radiation évolutive, fleur, lusus, ADN chloroplastique, épigénétique, introgressions, etc).

Jana Jersakova

Jana Jersáková est Professeur associé à la Faculté des sciences de l’Université de Bohême du Sud, République tchèque. Elle a une longue expérience en écologie sur les stratégies évolutives développées par les orchidées terrestres et se focalisant particulièrement sur les facteurs affectant la répartition des orchidées, comme leur dépendance vis-à-vis des champignons mycorhiziens spécifiques et des pollinisateurs spécialisés. À l’heure actuelle, ses recherches se concentrent sur les techniques d’isolement et de culture des champignons mycorhiziens des orchidées et leur utilisation dans la restauration des populations d’orchidées sur les habitats réhabilités.

Ray Ong

Spécialiste de la culture et de la multiplication des orchidées, Ray Ong a initié et développé des techniques de culture in vitro pour diverses espèces d’orchidées.

Marc-André Selosse

Marc-André Selosse est professeur au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (Paris) à l’Université de Gdansk et professeur invité à l’Université de Viçosa (Brésil). Ses recherches portent sur l’écologie et l’évolution des mycorhizes, une symbiose majeure entre les champignons du sol et les racines des plantes, en mettant l’accent sur les champignons mycorhiziens des orchidées. Son équipe s’intéresse aux populations et aux communautés fongiques et à la physiologie de la nutrition des plantes, tant dans les écosystèmes tempérés que tropicaux. Président de la Société Botanique de France depuis 2010, membre de l’Académie Française d’Agriculture et de la Société Française d’Orchidophilie (SFO), il est rédacteur en chef de Symbiosis, New Phytologist et Botany Letters. Il est très actif dans la vulgarisation et est rédacteur en chef du journal Espèces.

Tariq Stevaert

Botaniste du Missouri Botanical Gardens, ses activités de recherche portent principalement sur les orchidées tropicales d’Afrique, afin de les décrire, de découvrir leurs particularités biologiques et de les protéger.